Home / Entertainment / News celebrities / Leona Lewis and stars celebrate Sam Bailey's X Factor win on Twitter


Leona Lewis and stars celebrate Sam Bailey's X Factor win on Twitter

by Alison Potter Published on 16 December 2013
© ITV Pictures

Last night Sam Bailey was crowned the winner of The X Factor 2013 and viewers couldn't be happier. But Sam also had some famous faces publicly supporting her win and sending the mother-of-two congratulations on Twitter. Previous X Factor stars Leona Lewis and Rebecca Ferguson, as well as Lewis Hamilton, Denise Van Outen and Saturdays singer Mollie King were quick to shower praise on the big-voiced singer. Even Mr Nasty Simon Cowell had something nice to say about The X Factor result!

Sam Bailey emerged as the winner of the 2013 series of The X Factor, winning eight of the ten live shows in the public vote.

The much-loved former prison warden was overwhelmed upon finding out, tearfully saying: "Oh my god, I cannot believe this, I'm so grateful. Thank you."

The 36-year-old - nicknamed Screwbo - was the hot favourite to win after going head-to-head with 17-year-old Nicholas McDonald.

Her mentor Sharon Osbourne, who returned to the show after a five year absence, was delighted as it was the first time ever one of her acts had won the series.

​The 61-year-old gushed on Twitter: "I am so blessed to have been a tiny part of @SamBaileyREAL's victory tonight on @TheXFactor. Thank you. #XFactorFinal."

Sharon's daughter Kelly Osbourne was also over the moon about the victory, writing: "OMG @SamBaileyREAL won I'm so happy I'm crying!!!!!!! @MrsSOsbourne what a perfect ending to your #XfactorUK journey! I love you both xoxo"

Giving his seal of approval to proceedings and to Sam's winner's single Skyscraper, show boss Simon Cowell - who appeared to be in an uncharacteristic good mood - tweeted: "Congratulations Sam. Well deserved. And I love your version of skyscraper. Happy Xmas. Simon."

born 01/01/1900
Latest News
Sam Bailey © Instagram

X Factor judge Nicole Scherzinger - who the evening before took to the stage with Sam Bailey as her duet partner to sing 'And I'm Telling You' from the movie Dreamgirls - declared: "What another great #XFactor season xo."

While Lewis Hamilton, who is rumoured to be back with on-off girlfriend Nicole, gushed: "Sam Bailey sings And I’m Telling You with Nicole Scherzinger - X Factor - Live Performances http://xfactor.itv.com/2013/videos/liveperformances/watch_sam-bailey-sings-and-im-telling-you-with-nicole-scherzinger_item_201098.htm … BEST PERFORMANCE IVE SEEN."

Former X Factor winner Leona Lewis joined in with the congratulatory tweets, writing: "My girl @SamBaileyREAL did it! Congratulations on winning @TheXFactor lady your talent is immense x."

X Factor's Rebecca Ferguson joined in too, typing: "Arrr i wish sam love and blessings, congratulations @SamBaileyREAL xxx."

Previous X Factor contestant and former Xtra Factor host Olly Murs wrote: "Congratulations MISS @SamBaileyREAL you deserve that!!! Wish ya sang CELINE on the final that rendition was my fav!!"

Celebrating Sam's well-deserved win, The Saturday's singer Mollie King tweeted: "Soooo happy about @TheXFactor result!!!! I know I’m a bit late (no shock there!) haha but I’m SO pleased it was Sam!!! SOOO deserved!!!"

Denise Van Outen echoed the sentiments of many on Sunday night, writing: "Right result #XFactorFinal."

Meanwhile X Factor judge Louis Walsh didn't mention Sam specifically, but he did congratulate his BFF Sharon, typing: "Well done @MrsSOsbourne much love amazing way to end our last series of the @TheXFactor."

But Gary Barlow, who performed a duet with Elton John to mark the end of his time on the panel, was the only X Factor judge who didn't tweet about Sam or offer any congratulations at all.

​Perhaps he was sad that he didn't mark his last show with a winning act?

Were you pleased that Sam won? Tweet us @sofeminineUK!

by Alison Potter

You might also like

by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team
by the editorial team